Fiesta Bowl Is One of America’s Favorite Annual College Games

fiesta bowl
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Fiesta Bowl

The Fiesta Bowl is an annually played American college football game dating back to 1971. The origin of professional football origin in the United States dates back to 1892. The father of American football is considered to be a Yale University (formerly known as Hopkins School) graduate named Walter camp.

During this time college football popularity begin to kick off. Coaches like Eddie Cochems, Amos Alonzo Stagg, Knute Rockne, and Glen “Pop” Warner aided in the newly developed forward pass.

During the first half of the 20th century, college football grew. It became another version of the already popular American football. Traditions and rivalries boosted the number of college football teams and its popularity is widespread.

The concept of a Phoenix-area football bowl game was first pitched by the former Arizona State University President G. Homer Durham. Now over 40 years later, it has hosted seven national championship games. Still, it continues to become an integral part of college postseason football.

fiesta bowlThe game was hosted in Tempe, Arizona’s, Sun Devil Stadium from 1971 till 2006. Since 2007, the Fiesta Bowl has been held at the State Farm Stadium in Glendale Arizona.

In 2016, PlayStation officially sponsored the bowl. They then added their name to the now recognized title as the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl. Battle-frog, creators of obstacle racing series featured on ESPN also sponsored the 2016 bowl games.

Championship and Vizio teamed up for the December 2014 game. Frito-lay sponsors the game through its Tostitos tortilla chip brand. Other sponsors included IBM from 1993-95 and Sunkist during 1986-90.

The Fiesta Bowl became a part of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) in 1998. In 2014, they also became members of the College Football Playoff (CFP) tournament. Now the Fiesta bowl hosts a semifinal game every three years. The CFP Selection Committee is responsible for selecting all the teams that will play in the bowl.

The 48th edition of  Fiesta Bowl was played on Jan. 1, 2019. The two teams for the 2018-2019 roster is Southeastern Conference’s Louisianna State University (LSU) and American Athletic Conference’s University of Central Florida (UCF).

The UCF Knights, 12-0, 8-0 in AAC, with a winning streak of 25 sequential games. One of the most impressive victories happened recently. Early in the game against Memphis, UCF fell behind.

Their star quarterback McKenzie Milton suffered a knee injury the week prior. Their back up Q.B Darriel Mack Jr., according to several accounts held down the fort.

He led a tremendous come back and regained the AAC for the second running year. One more win and the Knights will claim yet another national championship.

LSU, 9-3 and 5-5 in SEC, reports claim that the Tigers was an upset team. They did better than many thought they would.

Their win over Alabama secured their spot in the Fiesta Bowl. According to many, LSU’s offense is questionable. However, both Quarterback Joe Burrow and Running Back Nick Brossette are star players.

The Tigers might be best known for its defense. One of the best safeties in the nation, Grant Delpit, presents a threat. Combined with corner-backs Greedy Williams and Kary Vincent Jr., the Tigers just may have the field covered on that side of the ball.

When the teams met at the Fiesta Bowl both teams scored each quarter. They were tied 10-10 in the first. The final score LSU Tigers over USC Knights; 40-32.

Written by Leon Murray
Edited by Cathy Milne-Ware


SBNation: Fiesta Bowl 2019 live stream: LSU vs. UCF time, TV schedule, and how to watch online
Fiesta Bowl: Bill Shover
Fiesta Bowl: The College Football Playoff

Featured and Inset Image Courtesy of Ken Lund’s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License
Top Image Courtesy of City of Glendale AZ’s Flickr Page Creative Commons License


Send Us A Message