"It is easier to build a strong child than to repair a broken man." - Frederick Douglass

New Driving Laws in Illinois

New Driving

Starting January 1, 2020, drivers in Illinois will be unable to stream videos while driving. This is one of a few new driving laws that will be instated. Drivers who disobey laws will be assessed and fined according to the new laws.

Streaming videos on one’s personal device will result in a fine for drivers. The Illinois vehicle code will be adjusted to specifically prohibit drivers from doing so. The “No Streaming Law” will be enacted along with an update to Scott’s Law. The update to Scott’s Law states that vehicles approaching disabled and emergency vehicles must slow down, change lanes, and proceed with caution.

In addition to the law to stop streaming while driving law, another driving law will also be instated. Illinois will introduce a “No smoking while driving law”. This law means that when a minor (a person under 18 years old) is present in a vehicle with a licensed adult, said adult cannot smoke. Regardless of whether the vehicle is parked or moving, the driver can not smoke. If disobeyed the driver will be fined $100 the first time, and $250 the second time.

The final two driving laws were enacted on July, 1. These laws include license suspension and a $1,000 fine for being distracted while driving and failure to yield the right of way at crosswalks in school zones.

Written by Reginae Echols

Edited by Sheena Robertson



Image Courtesy of Saurabh Mishra’s Flickr Page-Creative Commons License

Recent Posts